🦆 Ryzsardsky's blog

The parable of a filmmaker

I went from being a complete beginner to producing short movies every week, to utterly losing my inspiration. Here is my journey.

A passion was born

When I was ~7 years old, I decided to start documenting the bliss (or tragedy?) of having a newly-born sister. In fact, our film production industry was named after her, "SuperRebi Produzioni".

Any recording tool would suffice, so I started with a mediocre camera available at that time. Initially I was just passively recording the events happening around the house; later this habit evolved into the creation of stories and situations.

The roaring 10s

Thanks to a lot of free time and upgraded equipment, the number of films produced peaked between 2014 and 2018.

Tons of movies have been shot and edited with the inspiration of trivial family events and experiences.

In 2015, "I Love Cabine" received an honorable mention at the film festival "Corto a Muris". The story revolves around the sad demise of the public phone booths, their significance in the past and the many life events they were witnesses to.

Two years later, a sudden decline in the quality of the competing videos, helped me getting the first prize for the short movie "Di là dal clap". It is a re-reading of Boccaccio's novel "Calandrino" with a Friulian comic taste. I am very grateful to the amazing actors who not only followed the story, but also improvised to create authentic and compelling scenes.

In mid-2018 I published the video of my study travel in China, which is still the most viewed video on my channel. Already from the end of 2018, since I started working, the time for filmmaking has started to decrease.

In 2020 I shot a video of an enviromental action flash mob against the project of an highway, which at least raised some attention at local level.

Unstoppable decline?

In the pandemic times the output of the SuperRebi Productions was close to zero, aside from few travel videos. There is then a large gap between 2020 and the present times, where almost nothing was published.

After having moved abroad, my free time has drastically decreased, due to study and work commitments. In addition, I kinda lost my inspiration and focused more on the university exams.

Hope

In September 2023, after a 2-years stop due to the pandemic, Corto a Muris happened again!
Unfortunately I did not have any suitable video to submit which would fit the requirements, that are: Friulian language and territory, ideally comedy story, easy to understand.
Nevertheless, the event was a spark of motivation. A second source of motivation was family pressure. In fact, I am very grateful to them for nudging me again towards my creative hobby. Recently, I also attended a filmmaking workshop, which was a further boost to my motivation.

I am currently working on two videos: one is related to emigration from my land, the other tells a story of falling into depression. Yep, comedy is not my cup of tea.