🦆 Ryzsardsky's blog

About

About me

Born in the year of the movie Matrix. Ever since I can remember, I've been fascinated by those ink-stained objects called books. Tireless reader interested in psychology, philosophy and history. Software engineer with a humanistic soul. My belonging: I feel European, Friulian and Italian, exactly in that order. Occasional eccentric filmmaker and duck lover. Despite being Italian, but I can't cook a proper carbonara. Trying to apply minimalism to many aspects of life, including this blog.

The quest for a name

For a long time I've been known as "Brancaleone". It was inspired by the main character of the movie "L'armata Brancaleone", an iconic movie from the 60s by Mario Monicelli. The title of the movie is actually an idiomatic expression in Italian and could be used to describe Italian politics, for example.

A few months ago I switched to Ryzsardsky. The reasons were quite simple: I wanted a more international nickname, countless people think I'm Polish because of my appearance (!?), and lately I've become increasingly interested in Eastern European cultures and languages. Ryzsard is actually the Polish version of the name Riccardo. Then it becomes Ryzsardsky. Just because the suffix "sky" sounds cooler.

I am still open to other ideas and the name will probably change again in the future.

This blog

In this writing adventure I can identify three main goals:

1: Retain memories

As time passes, I often feel sorrow as I constantly realize the inevitable fading of memories. This makes me occasionally regret not retaining such moments with meaningful stories. That way, life experiences can continue living on this blog and be shared. Somehow low-effort systems such as Instagram are considered an alternative as well. Especially when it comes to travel, I've been focusing on videos as well. But I doubt they can convey the genuine feelings of such moments. Moreover, it is not a reliable source in the long term, considering that some psychological aspects like false memories or our tendency to forget bad events. I reckon that a certain degree of authenticity and detail can be reached only through writing.

2: Mental clarity

Writing can be seen as a personal improvement as well. I assume regular posting on the blog enhance oneself communication skills. Writing - as many other skills - is learned through practice. The process of porting thoughts into words forces you to reorganize and elaborate your ideas. A clearer and more logical organisation of thoughts also tends to lead to better decisions. At the same time, it is possible to get more awareness of oneself views. For these reasons I expect writing in this blog to benefit mental clarity.

3: Learn in public

Recently I've stumbled upon this concept, introduced by swyx. It is about sharing and openly document your learning progress. Could revolve around hobbies, side projects, or simply ideas and knowledge worth sharing. Firstly, writing a public post about a certain topic forces me to research and analyze my source to avoid opinionated views. Besides, this paradigm is not based on pure knowledge sharing, but also on actively refine and expand it through collaboration. Therefore, I'll adopt an open-source approach and see if it contributes the learning process.

About my 25 readers

I do not target big audiences, but rather friends and relatives. If I had "my twenty-five readers" , I would be more than happy.

Topics

Topics I would like to cover include: travel experiences, history, language learning, filmmaking, personal finance, digital minimalism, history of cinema, Friulian culture. These will be the main focus of the blog, but seldom technical stuff may also appear.

The rules of the game